DSC02589"Standard III Sponsorship"

Sponsor a child!

Standard III

Atukuzwe Jackson Mollel

I am 9 years old. I live with my two brothers and sister. My father died in an accident with his motorcycle. It’s difficult for our mother to look after us since he died. She cannot afford food for us every day. Sometimes our grandparents help us with food. In school I like Maths and Handwriting the best. Football too! When I get home I fetch water, then I play with my friends if I have time.

Fatina Noah Shorde

Mambo! I am a 9 year old girl. I live with my mother, grandmother and sister in Baraa. My mother doesn’t have a job, and my father left to live in Kenya. Our grandmother does her best to support us with money for food. I only have a 20 minute walk to school. I love mathematics and science. I want to be a doctor when I grow up. Then I can save lives. In the weekend I clean the house and I do the dishes, then I like playing Rede, a local game, with my friends.

Isaya Sifael Laizer Elias

I am a 9-year old boy. I live together with my mother, my father and my sister. My mother sells vegetables on the street. My father builds houses. In the morning I drink tea and I walk to school. I like all subjects in school, but I am best at Kiswahili and science. What I love most about the school is that we can study together in the classroom. After school, I collect water and do the dishes. When I finish my house chores, I have some time to wash myself. I also love to play football with my friends. Usually I am the one in the goal. As an adult, I hope I can be a pilot. I would love to learn how to fly.

Lucas Korneli Victor

I am 10 years old. I live with my mother. My father died when I was young. My mother sells roasted maize on the street. Sometimes she doesn’t earn enough money for us to eat that day. School is one hour walk away from home for me. I like the running and football the most at school. After school I help my mum at home, then do my homework. When I grow up I want to be a teacher.

Muhubiri Utoo Karaine

Mambo, my name is Muhubiri and I am 9 years old. I live with my mother and father around one hour away from school. I have two brothers and one sister. My other is a cleaner and my father is a labourer to build houses. In the morning I have tea and after school I like to play with my friends. The best things in school are Mathematics and playing football. One day, I want to be a lorry driver.

 

Rigobert Prosper Mtenga

Hi, my name is Rigobert and I am nine years old. I live with my mother and my brother. My father left us and he is living now with another wife. My mother is buying and selling vegetables to earn money. I do not get a breakfast every morning. In school I like English, Mathematics, Geography and Science. I also have Drum and Dance lessons during extra-curricular time. After school, I help my mum at home and I also like to play football with my friends. On Sunday, I go to church. When I am grown up, I would like to be a soldier.

How it works

Children are put forward for sponsorship by teachers, volunteers, iThemba staff or parents. We interview them to understand a little about their lives. Then our Outreach Worker visits each child that is interviewed at home to understand their home situation. This helps us to decide whether the student really needs sponsorship and if they are a high, medium or low priority for sponsorship. We create a sponsorship sheet for each child that needs sponsorship.

If you want to sponsor a child, all you need to do is send an email to baraasponsorship@gmail.com. Let us know if you have a preference for sponsoring a boy or girl and the age of the child. We will send a profile of a student over to you. You could also select a child yourself that you want to sponsor on our sponsorship page.

Payment can be made either yearly (€250) or monthly (€21) into our Leraren Zonder Grenzen account. For more details see our Donations section on our contribute page. However, when you mail us about sponsoring a child, we will provide you all the information.

Afterwards, we will send you an update on your sponsored child every 6 months so you can see how they are getting on. We also have our own Facebook page called If You Were in My Shoes (https://www.facebook.com/ifyouwereinmyshoes.ithemba/) about sponsoring students at Baraa Primary School.