DSC02587"Standard IV Sponsorship"

Standard IV

Sponsor a child!

Bryan Baraka Mria

I am a 9 year old boy. I live with my parents and my sister. My father sells clothes at the secondhand market. I like school. My best subjects are Mathematics, English and Science. After school I collect water, take a shower and then I read my books and do my homework. When I grow up I would like to sell clothes like my father.

Dorah Ally Mpanda

Mambo. I am Dorah and I am eleven years old. I live with my mother and my cousin in Kwamrefu. My father is in Dar es Salaam. My mother is washing peoples clothes to earn money. In the morning I drink tea but I don`t have tea every morning. In school I like English, Kiswahili and Mathematics. I also like to play there with my friends. After school I help my mother at home and on Sundays I go to church. When I am grown up I would like to be a soldier.

Jimson Edward Sangayo

I am 12 years old. I live together with my mother and my brother in Kambi ya Chupa. My father took his own life when I was 8 years old. My mother sells vegetables which she grows. My mother struggles to have enough money to look after us all. We don’t get food every day. I like all subjects at school, but Mathematics and English the most. After school I collect water and I cut grass for our cow. I prefer to play with my friends though!

Junior Godfrey Kilucha

Mambo! I am a 10 year old boy. I live with my mother, brother, uncle and grandfather. My lives far away and does not care about us anymore. My mother earns money by working as a day labourer. She doesn’t have work every day. Our aunt sometimes supports us with money and food when we need it. I enjoy almost every subject at school! When I grow up I want to be a soldier so I can earn money to look after my family, and help look after orphans.

Joshua Felisian Shayo

Mambo! I am an 11-year old boy. I live with my mother and my 2 brothers. I don’t know anything about our father. My mother has a little shop. Often I go to school without breakfast because we don’t have enough money. In school I like Mathematics, Kiswahili and English the most. I hope one day I can be a teacher myself so I can help other students.

Lewis Emanuel Lukumai

I am a 10 year old boy.  I live with my parents and brothers in Sorenyi which is quite close to my school. My mother is a cook in a hotel, but my father finds it hard to get work as he has an artificial leg and he finds it difficult to walk with it. We have family who live close by who sometimes support us with money and food when we need it. My favourite subjects in school are Science, Maths and Swahili. When I grow up, I would like to be a pilot.

Musa Rajabu Mdoi

I am an 11 year old boy. I live with my grandmother and my two sisters. My parents also live in Arusha, and I have 2 other sisters who live with them. My grandmother struggles to look after us and can’t provide food for us every day. My best subject at school is Civics. The best thing at school is gymnastics in extracurricular time. When I am older I would like to be a builder and earn lots of money.

Neema Ahimidiwe Mmari

I am a nine years old girl and I live with my aunt and my cousin 30 minutes walk away from school. My parents and my brothers live with my parents in Moshi. Before going to school, I drink tea and wash the dishes. In school I like English and Science. During extra-curricular time I do Drama. After school and in the weekends I help my aunt at home and I like to play Rede, a local game. When I am grown up, I want to be a doctor, so I can help sick people.

Pascal Mathei Mrosso

Mambo! I am a 9 year old boy. I live with my parents and my older sister in Moivaro. In the morning I collect water in a 10 litre container, then walk to school. I like Science most in school, but I am best in Geography. I love playing football. When I grow up I want to be a mechanic.

Viola John Mshui

I am 9 year old girl living in Kambi ya Chupa. My walk to school takes 45 minutes. I live together with my father and my stepmother. She has a small shop. Before going to school I clean the dishes and we have breakfast. I love Swahili and English but the best thing is doing sport in school. Me and my friends skip and play a game called Rede. After school I wash my clothes and collect water. I am not sure what I want to do when I am older.

 

How it works

Children are put forward for sponsorship by teachers, volunteers, iThemba staff or parents. We interview them to understand a little about their lives. Then our Outreach Worker visits each child that is interviewed at home to understand their home situation. This helps us to decide whether the student really needs sponsorship and if they are a high, medium or low priority for sponsorship. We create a sponsorship sheet for each child that needs sponsorship.

If you want to sponsor a child, all you need to do is send an email to baraasponsorship@gmail.com. Let us know if you have a preference for sponsoring a boy or girl and the age of the child. We will send a profile of a student over to you. You could also select a child yourself that you want to sponsor on our sponsorship page.

Payment can be made either yearly (€250) or monthly (€21) into our Leraren Zonder Grenzen account. For more details see our Donations section on our contribute page. However, when you mail us about sponsoring a child, we will provide you all the information.

Afterwards, we will send you an update on your sponsored child every 6 months so you can see how they are getting on. We also have our own Facebook page called If You Were in My Shoes (https://www.facebook.com/ifyouwereinmyshoes.ithemba/) about sponsoring students at Baraa Primary School.