VII"Standard VII Sponsorship"

Sponsor a child!

Standard VII

Brayan Lomayan

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Brayan-2019-1024x596.jpgI was born in 2006, I am a boy I live with my brother  in the mud house left with our late father and our mother is married to another man. My grandparents are the ones who are taking care of me and my brother. After school, I wash my clothes, collect firewood, fetch water and then I do my homework. When I am older I would like to be a Doctor.

Ally Habib Kimati

I am a 12 year old boy. I live with my mother, grandmother, brother and 2 sisters. I don’t know where my father is. Last time I saw him I was very young. My mother washes the clothes and cleans houses of other people to earn money. When I get home from school I fetch water and help around the house, then I like to play with my friends. When I am older I would like to be pilot.

Joshua Jeremia Longidare

I am  12 year old. I am a boy. I live with my parents. My father is disabled. My mother is working as a day labourer and also sells fried Cassava. I have one sibling. Science, geography and English are my favourite subjects.  During my extra curricular time I like to play football. When I get home from school I clean the cowshed, clean dishes, clean the house and wash my school uniform.  When I am older I would like to become a soldier.

Anjela Saitabau Losinyari

I am a 12 year old girl.  I live with my 3 brothers, 2 sisters and my mother. Our father died four years ago. Since then our mother struggles to earn enough money to look after us all. Often we don’t have enough food. In school I love dance and drumming in extracurricular time. After school I fetch water in 10 litre containers, help around the house, and do my homework. If I have time I play a local game called Uringo with my friends. When I grow up I would like to be a doctor so I can help sick people.

Emanuel Makaa Karaine

I am a 15 year old boy. Me and my 2 brothers live with our grandparents who are very old. I have 1 sister who lives with my mother in the city, and another who is married. Our grandparents struggle with having enough money to look after us. I help a lot at home outside of school. In school I like Maths and Kiswahili, but the very best thing at school is football. I hope maybe one day I will play for Barcelona Football Club! 

Glory Amosi Mhina

 I am an 11 year old girl. I live with my mother. I have a sister who lives with my grandmother in Moshi, because my mother cannot afford to look after us both. Our father died when I was young. In the morning I clean the floor, have breakfast, then walk to school which takes an hour. English is the most interesting subject in school but the best thing at school was the trip to Arusha National Park we had! After helping my mother after school I like to play card games with my friends. I hope one day I will be a teacher.

Maria Siyaiti Moivito 

I am 13 years old living with my mother and my five siblings. My father passed away. My mother is a farmer. My favorite subjects are mathematics, science and English. After school I wash dishes, school uniform, fetch water and do my homework. when I grow up I want to become a teacher.

Oscar Lomayani

I am a 14 year old boy. I live with my grandparent. I have One sibling, My father pass away and my mother got married to another man.  In school I like Mathematics, Science and Geography. When I get home from school I fetch water, collect firewood, wash my school uniform and doing my homework. Then I like to play football with my friends in the street. I want to become an Engineer.

Musa Zakayo Laizer

Hello, my name is Musa. I am a 13 year old boy. I live with my mother. My parents separated because my father had a drinking problem, and he turned into a bad man. Now we don’t see him anymore. My mother sells vegetables to earn money. I have to walk for an hour to get to school. I like Kiswahili, Mathematics and Science the most. I enjoy school and I hope one day I can be a teacher myself. 

Brayan Lomayani

I am 13 year old boy. I live with my grandparents, I have One brother.  In the morning I walk to  school together with my brother. My walk to school takes One hour. My father passed away  and my mother got married to another man. My favourite subjects are Mathematics, Geography and Science, but I get the best marks in Geography. I want to become a Doctor.

How it works

Children are put forward for sponsorship by teachers, volunteers, iThemba staff or parents. We interview them to understand a little about their lives. Then our Outreach Worker visits each child that is interviewed at home to understand their home situation. This helps us to decide whether the student really needs sponsorship and if they are a high, medium or low priority for sponsorship. We create a sponsorship sheet for each child that needs sponsorship. 

There are different reasons why a child would need sponsoring. Some of them are orphans, some are abused by their parents or caregivers, others have alcoholic parents or suffer themselves from diseases (are malnourished, epileptic, have eye problems and so on).

If you want to sponsor a child, all you need to do is send an email to baraasponsorship@gmail.com. Let us know if you have a preference for sponsoring a boy or girl and the age of the child. We will send a profile of a student over to you. You could also select a child yourself that you want to sponsor on our sponsorship page.

Payment can be made either yearly (€250) or monthly (€21) into our Leraren Zonder Grenzen account. For more details see our Donations section on our contribute page. However, when you mail us about sponsoring a child, we will provide you all the information.

Afterwards, we will send you an update on your sponsored child every 3 months so you can see how they are getting on. We also have our own Facebook page called “If You Were in My Shoes” about sponsoring students at Baraa Primary School.

Sponsor a child!