DSC02793"Form II Secondary School Sponsorship"

Secondary School Sponsorship Form II

Adolf Prosper Mtenga

Mambo, my name is Adolf and I am a 12 years old boy. I live with my mother and my brother. My father left us for another wife and doesn`t care about us. In the morning, I don`t always get breakfast. In school, I like Kiswahili, science, mathematics, English and geography. I also like to attend drama classes there during extra-curricular time. At home, I help my mother with collecting water and I also like to play football. When I am grown up, I want to become a Pastor because I would like to change the people`s lives.


Allen Gidion Sane

Hi! I am Allen and I am 13 years old. I live together with my mother 2 brothers, 2 sisters and 2 cousin in the house of my mother’s mother in law. Our father left us so we moved there. It is really crowded. Sometimes we have tea before going to school. In school I like social studies and English, but the best is playing soccer. We have a great soccer coach in school. When I grow up I would like to become a mechanic. I like to do physical work.


Fadhili Pius Mushi

I am 12 years old. I live together with my father and my stepmother in Kambi ya Chupa. My parents have a small shop. I walk an hour to school. I like to be at school with my friends, and I like to study. After school I collect water from the community tap and bring it home to wash the floor and my clothes. After finishing my chores I play football. When I grow up I want to build houses for other people, and a big house for me and my family.

Faraja Samwel Meng´oriki

I am an 11 year old boy.  I live with my mother and also 2 two cousins because my aunt died and my mother takes care of them now. I have never seen my father. It takes me 45 minutes to walk to school. In school I like to see my friends. My favourite subject is science. After school I wash my clothes and feed the chickens. Then I study and rest. When I am older I want to work for the government.

Jane Erick Mangaru

I am a 12 year old girl. I live with my mother, stepfather, brother and sister in Kwa Mrefu. In school I like English, dance and drumming lessons the most. After school I wash my school uniform and the dishes. Then I love skipping rope with my friends in my free time. I hope one day I will become a doctor.

Johnson Adamu Maliki

I am a 12 year old boy. I live with my mother and my twin Jofrey. My mother cleans houses for other people to earn money. My father visits once a week, but he doesn’t support us with money. I walk to school with my brother. It takes us an hour. I like science in school as I am very good at it. The best thing about school is that I’m in the school football team! After school I clean the house and my clothes. If my mother is home late I go to my aunt’s house, she lives nearby. When I grow up I want to become a pilot so I can earn enough money to help my mother.

Joram Festo Alfayo

I am a 13 year old boy.  I live together with my mother and 4 sisters. My mother sells fruits at the central market to earn money. My father died 5 years ago. Before school we don’t get breakfast as there isn’t enough money. I like all subjects in school but my favourite is mathematics. After school I study and play with my friends. One day I want to learn how to fly and become a pilot.

Obadia Petro Mendeyan

Mambo. I am a 17 years old boy. I live with my father, my stepmother and my siblings not far away from the school. My parents both work as day laborers to earn money. Before school, I have breakfast. In school, I like mathematics, English, Kiswahili, civics, science and arts. I also like to watch the soccer team playing. After school, I do my homework. I do not have an evening meal every day. When I grow up I would like to become a teacher.

Silviana Ndaeto Saringe

I am Silvania and 12 years old. I live together with my mom and with two of my three sisters. My mom sells vegetables on the street. Our father left us. Sometimes we have tea before going to school. I walk 40 minutes to school. I really like mathematics in school. But I like the library most where we are allowed to read sometimes. After school I help my mom cleaning the floor. After doing this I am allowed to play ‘rede’ outside with my friends. I would like to become an accountant one day.


Victor Jublati Mmari

Mambo! I am Victor, a 14 years old boy. I live with my grandmother and my uncle. My father passed away and my mother lives far away in Tanga. My grandmother is a pastor at church and my uncle works as a village chairman. In the morning, I do not get breakfast. In school I like English and Kiswahili. In extra-curricular time I like to play football. After school I help my grandmother at home with washing clothes, cleaning dishes and fetching water. On Sunday I go to church. When I am grown up, I would like to be a soldier. 

Zawadi Omari Godson

I am a 12 year old girl. I live together with my mother, brother and sister in Ngulelo. 2 other brothers and a sister live with our grandmother. My mother sells avocados at the central market. Our father lives with his new wife somewhere else. My walk to school takes one hour. The best thing in school is seeing my friends. After school I help my mother at home, then I like skipping rope with my friends. I hope one day I will be a teacher.

How it works

Children are put forward for sponsorship by teachers, volunteers, iThemba staff or parents. We interview them to understand a little about their lives. Then our Outreach Worker visits each child that is interviewed at home to understand their home situation. This helps us to decide whether the student really needs sponsorship and if they are a high, medium or low priority for sponsorship. We create a sponsorship sheet for each child that needs sponsorship. 

There are different reasons why a child would need sponsoring. Some of them are orphans, some are abused by their parents or caregivers, others have alcoholic parents or suffer themselves from diseases (are malnourished, epileptic, have eye problems and so on).

If you want to sponsor a child, all you need to do is send an email to baraasponsorship@gmail.com. Let us know if you have a preference for sponsoring a boy or girl and the age of the child. We will send a profile of a student over to you. You could also select a child yourself that you want to sponsor on our sponsorship page.

Payment can be made either yearly (€250) or monthly (€21) into our Leraren Zonder Grenzen account. For more details see our Donations section on our contribute page. However, when you mail us about sponsoring a child, we will provide you all the information.

Afterwards, we will send you an update on your sponsored child every 3 months so you can see how they are getting on. We also have our own Facebook page called “If You Were in My Shoes” about sponsoring students at Baraa Primary School.